Creative Statement

             I am a well seasoned Democratic political organizer who got my start in 2006 as a High School student volunteering on the John Hall for Congress campaign. I was concerned about the George W. Bush Presidency and its effect on my future, when one of my family friends convinced him me volunteer on John Hall’s ultimately successful campaign for Congress. I aspire to have a career in politics because I think there are a lot of problems in this country that can be fixed with the right policies.

            Since that campaign, I have worked on campaigns in the area of organizing volunteers to do voter contact work. While I became an expert in doing field organizing for campaigns, I have always felt that I could gain more knowledge and experience in using digital media for the political campaigns that I work on. Last year my friend and I organized a campaign in our town of Croton on Hudson, NY to move our March Village Elections to November as a way to increase voter participation in our town. My friend did all of the media work and I wish I could have done more to help him. While we made a WordPress blog for our campaign, I think if I had taken Media 150 before our campaign which was ultimately successful than we would have had a better blog.

            In addition to Blogging, I also desire to learn how to effectively use internet advertising to advance my causes. I don’t just do campaigns because they are fun, but because I believe in the causes that I am trying to advance and I see certain campaigns as a way of advances those causes. The internet is cluttered with advertising and from this class I would like to become an effective ad maker so people viewing content on the internet are directed to whatever website I am promoting.

1 thought on “Creative Statement

Leave a comment